Campus Progress National Conference

July 7, 2011


On July 6th I helped represent SYRF at the Campus Progress National Conference. I had no idea what to expect as I arrived at the Omni Shoreham hotel at 8 am, all I knew was that I was very, very tired. The hotel is big and very confusing so I had to have a very nice Campus Progress intern walk me to the tabling area where I met up with Angela, the SYRF director. We set up our table which included putting out condoms* and candy, a great combo. People started trickling in around 8:30 and we got to start handing out our pens and telling people about our organization. Many of the conference attendees did not know that something like SYRF existed and were delighted to find out more about the program. For the next 8 hours I spoke to so many different people and listened to what their beliefs were and why they were pro-choice. One guy came up to us and said, “As a pro-choice Christian, I’m so glad that you exist. Thank you.” It’s days like these that give me hope for reproductive freedom in our country. Women’s  healthcare is under such attack lately, it can be easy to become cynical and pessimistic. But, when I see hundreds of people my age with progressive ideals and reproductive choice in mind, I’m able to take a step back and realize that there is something I can do to fight back against the anti-choicer’s who are currently calling all the shots. Young people of faith have a strong voice and we can use it to spread the word to politicians in office and others around the country that we want comprehensive sex education, that we want access to birth control and contraception and abortions, that we want high-quality affordable healthcare, and that we deserve it.

 

*The king size were the first to go, possibly because of the shiny blue packaging.

 

Blog Post by:

 Leora Cohen-Rosenberg

Policy Intern

Religious Coalition for Reproductive Choice

Leave a Reply

